2020-2021 Recipients

The Board of Trustees awarded the W. H. Plemmons Medallion to four outstanding individuals in 2020.

The W. H. Plemmons Medallion is an award created to "recognize the time, energy, skills, and commitment of students, faculty, student affairs educators and staff who exceed their peers in providing leadership that enriches the quality of student life and advances the education of students." Each year nominations are sought from Appalachian community members. These nominations are reviewed and a recommendation is made to the Board of Trustees for recipients of this award.

2021's winners were:

  • Aiyana Willoughby-Plemmons Scholar
  • Dr. Tom Mueller-Faculty
  • Jason Marshburn-Staff